CRIMINAL DEFENSE ATTORNEY
Representing Clients In Macomb, Washtenaw, Wayne, Genesee County, and all over the State of Michigan.
Ashlee Duplessis has years of experience defending against serious violent crimes including assault and battery charges, domestic violence charges, and murder charges. Ashlee can help you build your defense and represent you before the court. Her goal is to defend your rights and seek out the best possible outcome for you. If you have been charged with a Strangulation or Suffocation charge call Ashlee today at 248-372-1527 or the button below.
What Michigan Law says about Strangulation
In Michigan, as in many other states, Assault and Battery are umbrella terms used to define certain misdemeanors and felonies. In Michigan, a simple assault is threatening or attempting to injure someone, without a weapon is classified as a misdemeanor. Felony charges are on the other hand much more severe. Felony Assault can be attempting to injure a person with a deadly weapon or even attempting to assault someone with the intent to murder. These felony charges could land someone behind bars for many years if found guilty.
Assault by strangulation or suffocation:
Michigan Criminal Codes states that a person who commits Assault by strangulation or suffocation can be found guilty of the offense:
(a) Assaults another person with intent to do great bodily harm, less than the crime of murder.
(b) Assaults another person by strangulation or suffocation.
(2) As used in this section, “strangulation or suffocation” means intentionally impeding normal breathing or circulation of the blood by applying pressure on the throat or neck or by blocking the nose or mouth of another person.“
It’s important to note that physical or visual evidence of injuries is not necessary for a defendant to be convicted. That’s to say that if a victim claims they were strangulated and a prosecutor presses charges, a lack of injuries will not mean the case is automatically dropped.
Penalties for an Assault by Strangulation Conviction
Assault by Strangulation is a felony charge. Felony charges in Michigan can range from one in jail to life in prison depending on the category of felony. This specific charge is a Class D Felony. Meaning, a person can be sentenced to 10 years in jail maximum and/or a fine of $5,000.
Call an Attorney who can defend your rights!
If you have been accused of assaulting someone by strangulation or impeding their ability to breathe then you could be convicted of this felony offense. Contact a Michigan Criminal Defense Attorney with the experience and knowledge to defend your case. Call us today or click the button below to find out more.