CRIMINAL DEFENSE ATTORNEY
Representing Clients In Macomb, Washtenaw and Wayne County.
Burglary charges in Michigan can have a person facing steep consequences. Burglary, which is defined in the Michigan Legal Codes as either Breaking and Entering or Home Invasion, can normally be considered a felony.
If you or a loved one are facing burglary charges then being aware of the consequences is crucial. Even if the person accused was not charged with physically stealing something the legal charges can still be severe. These felony offenses usually require the paying of fines and jail time if convicted. Felony convictions are serious because they can affect you well after you have served time.
At the Duplessis Law Firm we know how much is on the line when it comes to these charges. We can help you fight your case and we will defend you tirelessly.
What Michigan Law Says About Burglary
Burglary can be simply defined as entering into a building (whether a dwelling or other type of building) without explicit permission to do so and with the intent to commit a crime.
In Michigan the term burglary is broad. Entering someone’s home is considered a home invasion. Home Invasion (in the 1st, 2nd, or 3rd degree) is a very serious charge and all degrees of Home Invasion are considered felonies. There are several aggravating factors which determine what degree a person can be charged with if accused of Home Invasion.
One of the aggravating factors behind a burglary charge is the possession of burglary tools. These can be any items or tools which help in breaking into a locked building. This is a felony charge and can be punishable with up to 10 years in prison.
Degrees of Burglary in Michigan
Breaking and Entering: unlawfully entering a building other than a dwelling with the intent to commit a crime. This is punishable by up to 10 years in prison.
Entering without Breaking: unlawfully entering a building without breaking in. The sentence could be up to 5 years in prison and $2,500 in fines.
- Degree: Entering a building unlawfully while in possession of a weapon or while another person is present with the intention of committing a felony or crime.
- Degree: Entering a building unlawfully with the intent to commit a felony or crime.
- Degree: Entering a building unlawfully with the intent to commit a misdemeanor or while on parole, probation, or under a protection order.
These charges could bring someone 5-20 years in jail and $2,000 to $5,000 in fines.
Call an Attorney who can defend your rights!
A Burglary charge is not something you want to fight on your own. Prison sentences can be extended and the fines paid are also heavy, not to mention your affected criminal record. If you find yourself in this situation you will need an experienced lawyer who knows how to fight for you. Call Duplessis Law for reliable defense against your case.