CRIMINAL DEFENSE ATTORNEY
Assault and Battery in Michigan
Representing Clients In Macomb, Washtenaw and Wayne County.
Assault and Battery in Michigan is treated as a broad and inclusive term. The State of Michigan has many crimes which fall under the umbrella of Assault and Battery. Although these crimes have similarities, hence the broad term Assault and Battery, it’s important to understand that they are all treated very differently. The punishments and consequences of being convicted on simple assault is vastly different from that of aggravated assault. These charges can also be lumped under domestic violence which can add an additional level of scrutiny and sensitivity.
Working with an experienced criminal defense attorney is important to understand the severity of your situation. The prosecution is not looking out for your interests, that is the responsibility of your defense team. Having someone, like attorney Ashlee Duplessis, fully committed to your defense provides a more probable cause of a fair and just outcome. Given the number of crimes which can fall under A&B, it’s paramount to your legal defense strategy to have someone who will defend your rights.
What’s the difference between Assault and Battery in Michigan?
Some states distinguish the categories of Assault and Battery. South Carolina for example distinguishes its crimes of this nature with degrees, while Georgia does not. It’s more common to see states distinguish Assault from Battery by the completion of the violent act. Click here to learn more about this distinction in Michigan.
Misdemeanor charges, in Michigan, of Assault and Battery are defined in the following way:
- Simple Assault: Threatening or attempting to injure a person. This means the person charged did not necessarily injure or hit the accuser. It is a misdemeanor if no deadly weapon was used.
- Simple Battery: Carrying out an assault. It is inflicting injury and or violence force against someone else in an unlawful manner. It is also a misdemeanor.
- Aggravated Assault and Battery: If it is a first time offense it is classified as a misdemeanor. The “aggravated” nature of this form of A&B comes from the unintentional cause of ‘serious bodily injury.’
Felony Charges, in Michigan, of Assault and Battery are defined in the following way:
- Assault while committing another felony
- Assault with intent to maim
- Assault with intent to murder or seriously injure
- Assault of a pregnant woman, police officer, public servant, or emergency personnel
- Assault with a deadly weapon
Penalties of Misdemeanor or Felony Assault and Battery in Michigan
A simple assault and battery misdemeanor can face fines of up to $500 and up to 93 days in jail. An aggravated assault charge has fines of up to $1,000 and a year in jail. Probation and restitution are both possible consequences as well. A felony charge of aggravated assault can mean up to 2 years in jail and $5,000 in fines. Felony assault charges range from life in prison to 10-15 years in jail.
Call an Attorney who can defend your rights!
A misdemeanor or felony Assault and Battery charge can be difficult to defend against, especially by yourself. If convicted, you face prison time, fees and a criminal record. If you find yourself in this situation you will need an experienced lawyer who knows how to fight for you. Call Duplessis Law for reliable defense against your case.