CRIMINAL DEFENSE ATTORNEY
Representing Clients In Wayne County, Oakland County, And All Over The State Of Michigan.
A misdemeanor charge is not considered as serious as a felony offense; however, misdemeanors can have a lasting impact on those involved. These crimes usually are punishable by a fine or short jail time in a local county jail.
A Misdemeanor is classified by breaking a local ordinance or state law to cause minor damage to people or property. A misdemeanor crime is punishable by one year in jail (maximum).
Types of Misdemeanors in Michigan
Michigan divides the types of crimes into three categories:
What to do if I have been charged with a misdemeanor in Michigan?
Whether you’re charged with a felony or a misdemeanor, it’s important to seek legal counsel as soon as possible.
At Deplessis Law, we have experience representing clients facing Misdemeanor charges. We understand how the legal process works in Michigan and can advise you of the best course of action to help you beat your charges.
DETROIT CRIMINAL SEXUAL & ASSAULT LAWYER
Assault is considered a misdemeanor in the state of Michigan. At most, you may be sentenced up to 93 days in jail with $500 in fines. More serious assault crimes (like aggravated assault) has more severe punishments. For these charges, you could face up to a year in prison and fines up to $1,000.
If you are charged with assault, you may dispute the facts in the case. You might claim your actions were in self-defense or show that the victim consented to your actions (for example, that a fight was agreed upon before it began).
Detroit Criminal Sexual Lawyer helps in domestic violence cases that physically harm, arouse fear, prevent a partner from doing what they wish, or force them to behave in ways they do not want. It includes the use of physical and sexual violence, threats and intimidation, emotional abuse and economic deprivation. Here, criminal sexual conduct attorney understands the approach needed in a sex crime. Many of these different forms of domestic violence/abuse can be occurring at any one time within the same intimate relationship.
Domestic violence between partners could result in a 93-day misdemeanor for your first offense. The second offense may result in a year misdemeanor. A third offense may result in a felony.
If you have been charged with or are a victim of a sex crime or any other domestic violence let me help work through the court.
Having an open container of alcohol or other intoxicants in your vehicle is illegal which could result in criminal penalties if you are charged. If convicted of this offense you will also receive two points on your licenses.
This law exists to deter motorists from drinking and driving, but it also applied to all the passengers in the vehicle as well!
Whether you suspect that you may be charged with an open container offense or have already been arrested or charged, I am capable and ready to provide the legal guidance and representation you need, guiding you through every stage of the process.
Have you been charged with an open container offense? Contact criminal defense lawyer at Duplessis Law Offices to take care of and handle this offense for you.