CRIMINAL DEFENSE ATTORNEY
Degrees of Criminal Sexual Conduct
Representing Clients In Macomb, Washtenaw, Wayne, Genesee County, and all over the State of Michigan.
Criminal Sexual Conduct in Michigan, commonly abbreviated as CSC, is the unwanted, unlawful, and/or unconsented sexual misconduct from one person to another. In Michigan crimes are categorized by both misdemeanors and felonies as well as by level, degree, or class.
These cases are often very complex and no charge is clear-cut. Being accused of such a charge, even if it is a misdemeanor, can be life-altering and receiving proper representation is extremely important.
Different Degrees of CSC in Michigan
Because of the nature of the charges, all degrees of CSC can carry heavy punishments, even a misdemeanor charge. Below is a breakdown of of how Michigan categorizes Criminal Sexual Conduct:
1st Degree Criminal Sexual Conduct
- This is the most severe CSC charge one can be accused of. There are several definitions to this charge, it mostly can include engaging in forced penetration of a person under the age of 13, engaging in criminal sexual conduct while committing any other felony, using violence, force, and/or a weapon to commit rape, and other possible definitions of this crime.
2nd Degree Criminal Sexual Conduct
- In Michigan, second-degree CSC includes unwanted purposeful touching, groping, or molesting of someone under 13 years of age, someone 13-16 years of age in the household or in the extended family, using a weapon, force, or violence, and/or other actions.
3rd Degree Criminal Sexual Conduct
- Third Degree CSC is sometimes known as statutory rape. It is still considered a felony in the State of Michigan and thus can carry heavy penalties. This charge can be defined as ‘unwanted sexual conduct or rape of a person 13 to 16 years of age or a student 16 to 18 years of age and the person accused of the crime is a teacher or employee of the school district’. This charge can also include definitions of force or coercion by the aggressor.
4th Degree Criminal Sexual Conduct
- Sometimes known as “indecent liberties,” 4th degree CSC in Michigan is a serious misdemeanor charge. If the accused accomplishes this form of CSM through engaging in sexual conduct with a person 13 to 16 years of age and the aggressor is 5 years older than the victim then it is considered 4th degree CSC. It can also include sexual conduct through force or coercion and if the person was under your authority or influence (student or mental health client).
Punishments and Consequences of Criminal Sexual Conduct in Michigan
Punishments and Consequences for CSC in Michigan are serious and life-changing. 1st degree CSC technically has a 25 year minimum prison sentence. This is because if you are tried as an adult then the charge is a life prison sentence, if you are tried as a minor then the charge carries a minimum of 25 years. 2nd and 3rd-degree CSC has a maximum 15 year prison sentence. 4th degree CSC can carry 2 years in prison, this is the highest possible charge for a misdemeanor. All degrees of CSC in Michigan carry mandatory registration in the state’s sex offender registry. These charges carry additional consequences, including job opportunities, financial aid and more.
Call an Attorney who can defend YOU
Sex crime allegations can be life altering. If convicted, you face prison time, fees and a lifetime sexual offender registrant. If you find yourself in this situation you will need an experienced lawyer who knows how to fight the government in criminal sexual assault cases.
If you are facing a sexual conduct charge, call Duplessis Law right away for reliable defense against your case.